Install LibreOffice 4.x on Ubuntu 12.04 and 12.10

LibreOffice 4.x

LibreOffice 4.x

Document Foundation, the developers behind LibreOffice released Version 4.0 on 7th February 2013. Ubuntu 12.04 however is still stuck with Version 3.5 and Ubuntu 12.10 with Version 3.6 of LibreOffice. Its always nice to be up-to-date with the latest versions. This is what is covered in this post.

The first step is to install the PPA repository and there are two choices you have.

  1. To Add 4.0 Repository (this will remain limited to 4.0 and its subversions only like 4.0.x):
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:libreoffice/libreoffice-4-0
  2. To Add Latest Repository (also offers 4.0.x but later will automatically update to 4.x and above):
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:libreoffice/ppa

Which ever road you take, the next steps are the same. Run the update command and upgrade the distribution (simple upgrade won’t work):

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

And you have the latest LibreOffice 🙂

9 thoughts on “Install LibreOffice 4.x on Ubuntu 12.04 and 12.10

  1. Hello!
    I have Ubuntu 12.04 LTS on a usb. I’ve tried several times to upgrade to Libre Office 4 and I keep getting the following response:

    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

    I would appreciate any help.

    p.s. Linux newbie

  2. Thank you for your quick response M.

    I’d like to give you the sequence of steps I took.

    1. sudo add-apt-repository ppa:libreoffice/ppa
    2. sudo apt-get update
    3. sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

    Didn’t work, so I researched for a few hours, read other threads, tried OTHER various commands but no solution. I found your website, tried again with still no solution. I then left a reply on your website. Tried the “Software Update” and LibreOffice only updated a “PARTIAL UPDATE” which is odd. I opened the program and it was “Updated”. I then got your response, tried your suggestion, still no luck. Then found and did these 2 commands:

    sudo apt-get clean
    sudo apt-get update

    And it said done, no errors. I restarted the computer, tried the “Software Update” again and it said I had no updates. I then opened LibreOffice Version 4.0.2.2.

    My question is, how do I know if LibreOffice “FULLY” installed or just “PARTIALLY”?

    Again, thank you for your help!

  3. Hi Ahmad,
    this works great when you already have an ¨old¨ version of LO installed on your linux box. If you want to install it from scratch, I added the command sudo apt-get install.

  4. very helpful just copy the commands and paste…. very very thanks… im new to linux and enjoying it because of support by people like you..:)

Leave a Reply

